COMMUNITY PRESERVATION COMMITTEE REPORT FY19

THE COMMUNITY PRESERVATION ACT, MGL CHAPTER 44B (CPA), IS LEGISLATION WHICH ALLOWS CITIES AND TOWNS IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS TO ADOPT A PROPERTY TAX SURCHARGE WITH SURCHARGE REVENUES PLUS MATCHING FUNDS FROM THE STATE TO BE ALLOCATED FOR THE "ACQUISITION, CREATION AND PRESERVATION OF OPEN SPACE, THE ACQUISITION, CREATION AND PRESERVATION OF HISTORIC STRUCTURES AND LANDSCAPES AND THE CREATION AND PRESERVATION OF COMMUNITY HOUSING." 1

In 2002, Wareham enacted the Community Preservation Act (CPA) approving a 3% real estate tax surcharge (with initial \$100,000 property value exclusion) which qualifies the Town to receive state funds from the Commonwealth each year. The state funds are generated by recording fees at the Registrar of Deeds. To date the Town of Wareham has received \$4,855,107 of these funds.

In FY19, the Town of Wareham collected \$903,705 in CPA funds and received \$190,639 from the state. With funds unspent from prior year, Community Preservation Commission (CPC) had a starting balance of \$3,410,138 to support approved projects. At both the Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 Town Meetings, the voters approved open space, recreation, affordable housing and historic preservation grants for a total of \$1,197,932 and a bond for \$1,430,000 for Tremont Nail cleanup.

Following is the financial report for FY19:

FY19 REVENUE

3% TAX SURCHARGE	792,513
STATE MATCH FUND	190,639
INTEREST EARNED	111,192
UNALLOCATED PRIOR YEAR	1,531,187
OPEN SPACE RESERVE	197,097
AFFORDABLE HOUSING RESERVE	567,203
HISTORIC PRESERVATION RESERVE	20,307

TOTAL REVENUE 3,410,138

-35 068

FY19 GRANTS

TONDS RETURNED FROM COMPLETED	-33,008
OR NEVER STARTED	
ONSET PIER	250,000
ONSET BANDSHELL REBUILD	333,000
2 AGAWAM HOUSING UNITS	650,000

FLINDS RETURNED FROM COMPLETED

TOTAL GRANTS 1,197,932

FY19 CPA FUND BALANCE

BALANCE UNALLOCATED	1,739,731
OPEN SPACE RESERVE	298,497
AFFORDABLE HOUSING RESERVE	18,603
HISTORIC PRESERVATION RESERVE	110,375
ADMIN RESERVE	45,000

TOTAL FUND BALANCE 2,212,206

Community Preservation Committee

George Barrett – Planning Board
Jean Connaughton – Housing Authority
Joan Kinniburgh – citizen-at-large
Brian Litchfield – Co-chair, Open Space Committee
Sandra Slavin – Co-chair, Treasurer, Conservation Commission
Barbara Smith – Historic Commission
Sherbie Worthen – Clerk, citizen-at-large