COMMUNITY PRESERVATION COMMITTEE REPORT FY20

THE COMMUNITY PRESERVATION ACT, MGL CHAPTER 44B (CPA), IS LEGISLATION WHICH ALLOWS CITIES AND TOWNS IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS TO ADOPT A PROPERTY TAX SURCHARGE WITH SURCHARGE REVENUES PLUS MATCHING FUNDS FROM THE STATE TO BE ALLOCATED FOR THE "ACQUISITION, CREATION AND PRESERVATION OF OPEN SPACE, THE ACQUISITION, CREATION AND PRESERVATION OF HISTORIC STRUCTURES AND LANDSCAPES AND THE CREATION AND PRESERVATION OF COMMUNITY HOUSING." 1

In 2002, Wareham enacted the Community Preservation Act (CPA) approving a 3% real estate tax surcharge (with initial \$100,000 property value exclusion) which qualifies the Town to receive state funds from the Commonwealth each year. The state funds are generated by recording fees at the Registrar of Deeds. To date the Town of Wareham has received \$5,107,331. of these funds.

In FY20, the Town of Wareham collected \$923,284 in CPA funds and received \$252,224 from the state. With funds unspent from prior year, Community Preservation Commission (CPC) had a starting balance of \$3,381,262 to support approved projects. At both the Fall 2019 and Spring 2020 Town Meetings, the voters approved open space and recreation grants for a total of \$429,646.

Following is the financial report for FY20:

FY20 REVENUE

3% TAX SURCHARGE	834,477
STATE MATCH FUND	252,224
INTEREST EARNED	88,807
UNALLOCATED PRIOR YEAR	1,778,279
OPEN SPACE RESERVE	298,497
AFFORDABLE HOUSING RESERVE	18,603
HISTORIC PRESERVATION RESERVE	110,375

TOTAL REVENUE 3,381,262

FY20 GRANTS

FUNDS RETURNED FROM COMPLETED

OR NEVER STARTED	-70,626
ANDERSON TRACK	200,000
SHANGR-LA PLAYGROUND	220,000
WESTFIELD SOCCER	40,000
WESTFIELD GIRLS SOFTBALL	30,000

TOTAL GRANTS		419,374
TREMONT NAIL BOND INTEREST	10,272	
TOTAL PAYMENT		429,646
FY20 Y/E CPA FUND BALANCE		
BALANCE UNALLOCATED	2,126,340	
OPEN SPACE RESERVE	398,497	
AFFORDABLE HOUSING RESERVE	131,988	
HISTORIC PRESERVATION RESERVE	244,791	
ADMIN RESERVE	50,000	
TOTAL FUND BALANCE		2,951,616

Community Preservation Committee

George Barrett – Planning Board
Jean Connaughton – Housing Authority
Joan Kinniburgh – citizen-at-large
Brian Litchfield – Co-chair, Open Space Committee
Sandra Slavin – Co-chair, Treasurer, Conservation Commission
Barbara Smith – Historic Commission
Sherbie Worthen – Clerk, citizen-at-large